#OOW16 Day-2

I intentionally named the post name as -2, it is because Oracle Open World will start 2 days later (not counting Saturday, 17th September). Although it looks all the same, each year has it’s own differences in scope and detail. So let’s start sharing the story.

We had a quite a long flight (13 hours and 20 minutes) from Istanbul to San Francisco, with companying Osama Mustafa, Gokhan Atil and Kamran Aghayev.

Open door of the aircraft.
Open door of the aircraft.
Tweeted this at the attitude of 10.000ft.
Tweeted this at the attitude of 10.000ft.

When I stepped into the plane (luckily I had the seat in exit row), aircraft door was opened and I was able to take some photos right next to wing. And I had the internet connection during the flight. This was my first time having internet so immediately started tweeting and checked my mails and done many other things. But, this made me not to sleep much. 😥

After landing and immigration, visa, etc., we’ve made it to Sofitel Hotel after waiting about an hour in front of San Francisco International Airport. We were total of 6 Ace Directors waiting after 5-10 minutes.

Waiting in front of SFO International Airport.
Waiting in front of SFO International Airport.

Then checked in Sofitel, had a nice dinner with Ludovico Caldara (and his girl friend), Gokhan Atil, Franck Pachot in an American over-sized Italian pizza & pasta restaurant. I slept too early (10:30pm, this is really rare) because I was suffering.

Next day started at 7am, with a walk to Oracle HQ with company of Ludovico Caldara and Kamran Aghayev. Lake was looking great and I shoot a panoramic view of the lake in front of Sofitel.

Beautiful panoramic view of lake with reflections.
Beautiful panoramic view of lake with reflections.
Mandatory Oracle HQ selfie.
Mandatory Oracle HQ selfie.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Oracle HQ Mandatory Selfie.
Oracle HQ Mandatory Selfie.

Then Oracle ACE Director Product Briefings sessions are started at 8am. This year, we have amazing number of sessions and we needed to select some of them which some of them are in parallel.

It was not a usual thing that Product Briefing sessions started with Thomas Kurian (EVP of Product Development) at 8am. But it was so usual, he was fantastic. He shared all the upcoming announcements as well as what happened in Oracle space from the last year till now, within an hour. I cannot share the details, because we are all under NDA.! So stay tuned for all the upcoming announcements during the #OOW16.

Thanks to Bobby for signing his own book.
Thanks to Bobby for signing his own book.

And during the Product Briefings sessions, my fellow ACED, Bobby Curtis, made a great surprise and signed a copy of his book and gave me as a present. This was so cool Bobby, thank you.!

By the end of the day, I attended 8 sessions.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.